Scott Ryan re-elected as Senate president

Victorian Liberal Scott Ryan has been re-elected Senate president after comprehensively defeating a Greens challenge designed to draw attention to a “stitch up” between the major parties.

Greens senator Nick McKim prompted groans when he rose to criticise the opposition and the government’s agreement to let the party in power choose the Senate’s presiding officer.

“This place is not a cosy club,” he told senators on Tuesday.

Senator Ryan garnered 62 votes to Senator McKim’s 10, while one person voted for former Labor senator Gavin Marshall sparking an outbreak of laughter in the chamber.

Senator Ryan will continue in the role he has held since November 2017.

He vowed to oversee the completion of the bungled security upgrade on Parliament House’s Senate entrance.

“I will see those doors get finished eventually,” Senator Ryan said.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.