Fifteen members have been appointed to the new NSW Freight Transport Advisory Council (FTAC) today, to be chaired by Duncan Gay.

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Sam Farraway congratulated the inaugural members and the incoming chair on their recent appointment.

“Appointing Duncan as Chair to the new body will give the group a wealth of experience when interacting with Government and understanding policy,” Mr Farraway said.

“The new appointees come from a wide cross-section of industry, including road and rail bodies, intermodal operators, port representatives, couriers, retailers and producers.

“The new body will not only discuss freight and supply chain issues, but provide input into Government strategies, policies and projects.

“The wealth of industry leadership and experience on the council will mean better outcomes for the freight sector, which is expected to increase by 28 per cent to see 618 million tonnes moving across our state by 2036.”

The new council replaces the Freight and Logistics Advisory Council and the Road Freight Industry Council to represent the entire freight chain across different transport modes as a single council.

Mr Gay welcomed his appointment and said “I am honoured to be appointed as inaugural chair and look forward to giving the entire freight industry a united voice that will help inform NSW Government policy as freight demand continues to rise.”

The new Council will meet four times a year, with the first meeting to be held in June.

New appointees will remain on the Council for a term of two years.

For more information regarding FTAC, go to

The new appointees are:

 Chair – The Hon. Duncan Gay

 Port of Newcastle – Mr Craig Carmody

 National Road Transport Association (NatRoad) – Mr Warren Clark

 Ron Crouch Transport – Mr Geoffrey Crouch

 Woolworth Group – Mr Rick Dani

 Qube – Mr Paul Digney

 Ports Australia – The Hon. Michael Gallacher

 Freight on Rail Group – Mr Andrew Harding

 Namoi Cotton – Mr Allan Neil Johns

 DHL – Mr Leslie Logue

 Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA) – Mr Paul Pulver

 Monidale VGL – Mr Scott Walker

 Australasian Railway Association – Ms Caroline Wilkie

 Australian Logistics Council – Mr Brad Williams

 Road Freight NSW – Mr Austin Vella

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.